template->_php_include(): File ./../includes/nav.inc.php does not exist or is empty

Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Are you having trouble with Puny Human's products?

Moderators: KindredPhantom, Forum Moderators

Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby Alastor » Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:31 am

Hey everyone, I usually don't like to make threads for issues because there tends to be information already out there on most of the problems I encounter but I'm getting desperate here. I've looked for hours both today and yesterday for a solution and different Source server guides. I just want to make a server me and my friends can spar on for fun.

I have followed the Windows section of this guide multiple times with several fresh installs.

http://www.blade-symphony.com/server-guide/

I've had myself and two friends try to find the server on the server list. The server ends up being LAN only and I'm the only one capable of connecting to it. I have attempted running the server through command prompt and also tried double clicking srcds.exe and running the server that way. Both have the same results. I also tried the Blade Symphony Dedicated Server software under the tools section on Steam which seems to be more of the same thing just without downloading a separate copy of the game assets for the server.

I have all ports forwarded, firewall off, antivirus disabled. Is there something I'm missing here? Anyone have any ideas to try and get my server on the internet and not just LAN only?
Alastor
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:06 am

Re: Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby Alastor » Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:47 pm

Welp, ten days later and still having the same issue. I just gave it some time to see if it was maybe a problem on some servers end and not on mine. I'm on a completely fresh install of the server software. I've even gotten to the point where I'll completely uninstall the dedicated server and the game and wipe the registry clean of the games existence and making sure any leftover files are gone. Then when I do a complete reinstall of everything nothing changes, all my problems are exactly the same. I'm not sure what to do anymore. I'm about to give up.

Does everybody really have no tips or advice? Am I just screwed? Can I get any reply at all? Even if it's just a "lmao ur screwed kid" or "wow use google" somebody say something.
Alastor
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:06 am

Re: Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby KindredPhantom » Mon Oct 28, 2013 3:04 pm

Is sv_lan set to 0?
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby Alastor » Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:56 pm

I guess so. I've tried typing that out multiple times in the server command line but it doesn't seem to give me any confirmation or anything and I'm not sure if that's normal or not. I can't seem to find much information on commands for srcds. I can't seem to find a command that can list commands or something. I added "sv_lan 0" to the server.cfg and I guess it's on that by default now when I run it but I'm still having the same exact issues.

I've never really messed with srcds servers before so all of this is pretty much new to me but I have a friend that followed the same exact steps I did and is capable of getting his server up without issue. He's not going to host a 24/7 server or be on all the time though, so I want to be able to host them myself too for when he's not around or willing to play.

Also, thanks a lot for replying. It was something to consider but I'm not quite sure if that's the issue. Either that or I'm too mentally handicapped to be capable of running these servers or comprehend how to properly input these commands. Any further help would be much appreciated.

If you notice any steps I'm doing wrong in the above statements that would be great to get sorted out. I'd rather be dumber than a box of rocks with a simple issue than have an issue that is seemingly impossible to fix.
Alastor
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:06 am

Re: Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby KindredPhantom » Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:11 pm

Have you checked in the developer console that it is set to sv_lan 0? You can do this by just typing the command without anything after it. If you do have sv_lan 0 you could try typing heartbeat into the console, this command manually pings the steam servers telling them details about your server.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby Alastor » Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:26 am

Image

Well, I tried the heartbeat command. The sv_lan command states it's LAN only still. I'm not quite sure what the issue could be.

Let's see... firewall is still disabled, virus scanner is disabled, ports open in a static IP. I did a validation on the server files. Everything seems to be intact and my connection is about as open as I can get it.

I feel like I have something running that could be conflicting with it. I've hosted servers on many other games just fine. It's just this one for some reason.
Alastor
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:06 am

Re: Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby KindredPhantom » Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:49 pm

I cannot think of any others solutions to solve this problem.
Post a topic in the Blade Symphony steam community forums and hopefully players who have hosted servers will be able to help you find a solution.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby Biohazard90 » Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:21 pm

It looks like you typed
Code: Select all
sv_lan = 0

although it should be
Code: Select all
sv_lan 0

I can tell this from your screenshot, since it says "= 0".

However I doubt this is your problem since you just might have been trying various things.

Do you have steam running when starting the server? Make sure it's not running because there's a chance that your server will stay invisible in that case. You can still run the server without steam with srcds.exe which is located in common/blade symphony/.
Biohazard90
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:53 am

Re: Dedicated Server Issue (Blade Symphony)

Postby Alastor » Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:22 pm

Well thanks for the support guys. I think I may just give up on it at this point though. I'm out of ideas and it's starting to not seem worth the effort. Maybe I'll pick it back up some other time.

Also to Biohazard, I was trying multiple ways of typing the sv_lan command but I usually typed it as "sv_lan 0". What you are seeing in the screenshot is me running simply "sv_lan" to see the state of the command and whether or not it was set to 1 or 0. I just attempted to run a server with Steam completely closed and still no heartbeat and LAN only.
Alastor
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:06 am


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron