template->_php_include(): File ./../includes/nav.inc.php does not exist or is empty

Dystopia crash

Are you having trouble with Puny Human's products?

Moderators: KindredPhantom, Forum Moderators

Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:26 pm

Edit
Last edited by 9mm on Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby KindredPhantom » Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:10 pm

First I need you to follow these instructions. viewtopic.php?f=50&t=17395
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:32 am

edit
Last edited by 9mm on Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:53 am

Edit
Last edited by 9mm on Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:42 am, edited 2 times in total.
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby KindredPhantom » Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:04 am

The system requirements to run Dystopia are about the same as it is to run Team Fortress 2. So yes, your video card fails to meet the minimum specification which could be a problem but I don't imagine enough to cause your problem.

Minimum: 1.7 GHz Processor, 512MB RAM, DirectX® 8.1 level Graphics Card (Requires support for SSE), Windows® 7 (32/64-bit)/Vista/XP, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection

Recommended: Pentium 4 processor (3.0GHz, or better), 1GB RAM, DirectX® 9 level Graphics Card, Windows® 7 (32/64-bit)/Vista/XP, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:44 am

There should be a listing for video memory, my video card supports dx9 and 10, and i have more than 512 mb of ram... are you sure my video card is under spec? also, tf2 doesn't crash at all, it plays just fine
Last edited by 9mm on Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby KindredPhantom » Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:44 am

You said yourself it was 256 mb.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:45 am

sure it is, but the listing there for 512 mb is for RAM not video memory
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:47 am

look, you should just delete this thread and unregister me, i won't be supporting ph in the future
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby KindredPhantom » Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:49 am

Go to the following site, select Team Fortress 2 and click the button. http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/intro.aspx

If you can run Team Fortress 2 then you should be able to run Dystopia.

Most games now require 1 GB of VRAM on the graphics card to play, 256 MB is pretty low for games, you should aim to have at least 512 MB.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby termi » Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:55 am

Your gear looks fine to me, i figure theres a bigger issue there, its a stupid question but are you experiencing any problems with any other source games

I understand your frustration, is there a reason you've edited all your previous posts and are having a massive sad about the whole thing ?

ps. if you want unregister etc. feel free to do it via the settings panel
Team T, you know you want it.
Image
termi
Team Dystopia
Team Dystopia
 
Posts: 1960
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 8:46 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Real Name: Tim Grant

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:03 am

Massive sad because I have spent over 12 hours in the past 2 days beating my head against this problem because i love this game... can't unregister because of the common issue i have been experiencing troubleshooting this problem... its not clearly there on the control panel even after over 10 minutes of looking... and i won't be supporting ph because of insufficient documentation on even what is required to play this game much less the fact that i have no access to the trouble shooting features you use eg the *.mdmp files that are supposed to be created that aren't there, and i have done a windows search for *.mdmp and nothing for dystopia comes up
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby termi » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:09 am

Dystopia is a mod man its not a game commercial or otherwise, we made it before PHG even existed, The troubleshooting steps we're trying to step you through are the same as any other source engine mod, your original post (if i remember rightly as you deleted it) didnt really give us the information required the sort it out for you, kindred attempted to step you through the normal stuff.

Disregard the hardware side of things for a moment and we might get somewhere, the 'insufficiant documentation' as you put it doesnt seem like an issue for the countless other people that play the game, Im not suggesting you unregister, you bought that up.

Again, can you give us as much detail as possible for what your issue is. also have you tried looking for the .mdmp file in your <path to steam>\steamapps\<your username>\source sdk base 2007\ directory ?

Depending on your setup it could also be there.
Team T, you know you want it.
Image
termi
Team Dystopia
Team Dystopia
 
Posts: 1960
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 8:46 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Real Name: Tim Grant

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:17 am

alright, overclocked my gpu core clock and it didn't force me to hard reset this time, I still agree that its probably just the 256mb limitation, and i got an mdmp file! yay! there may still be a decisive for this frustrated player... now i just need to find how to upload it to the forum which i'm looking at the sticky now
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:18 am

ya, thanks... you aren't telling me anything i didn't already know
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:18 am

comeon, havn't i come close enough to violating what i agreed to when i registered for you to just eliminate this thread?
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby KindredPhantom » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:19 am

If you can't figure it out upload it somewhere that we can download a copy from.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby termi » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:20 am

Okay heres the deal , you approached us looking for help, im trying to help you, im even happy to wear you being a bit a little short with us due to frustration, but you're bordering on schizophrenic in your responses here. if you want help, post the mdmp somewhere so we can check it out, otherwise just go dude, we arent forcing you to stick around on the forums....
Team T, you know you want it.
Image
termi
Team Dystopia
Team Dystopia
 
Posts: 1960
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 8:46 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Real Name: Tim Grant

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:21 am

hl2_4104_crash_2012_9_5T16_35_53C0.zip
done
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:22 am

yeah, schizophrenic is my diagnosis.... i just don't give up... and i'm used to others giving up, so i don't keep my hopes up on gettin help from anyone
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby termi » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:23 am

Well you've posted the dump file which is good news!
We'll have a look at it for you
Team T, you know you want it.
Image
termi
Team Dystopia
Team Dystopia
 
Posts: 1960
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 8:46 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Real Name: Tim Grant

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:40 am

yay! Thank you... even if i can't fix it at least i might get an answer instead of pushing my reset button every 5 minutes and trying something else...
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby KindredPhantom » Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:09 pm

The crash file has been looked at but unfortunately it has provided nothing useful.
If you are still having problems then you will need to provide details.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindredPhantom
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:27 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:04 pm

HAHAHA... just my luck... The reason I havn't been able to figure this out myself is because there are no details, I'll get speed fan and see if its just getting too hot, maybe i just need to as5 the videocard, or maybe i need more airflow... There were two other things i was going to try too, disabling steam-ingame, and having all versions of S:SDK fully updated... i noticed that 2k7 was paused at 96% lastnight... i know these aren't the details you are looking for, i'll go get on the pc and get u a dxdiag report
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Dystopia crash

Postby 9mm » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:33 pm

GPU, 69c Idle!... an answer at last
9mm
CyberNewb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 pm

Next

Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron