template->_php_include(): File ./../includes/nav.inc.php does not exist or is empty

Using Steam's Source Dedicated Server with Dystopia

Helpful information for people wanting to run dedicated Dystopia servers

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Using Steam's Source Dedicated Server with Dystopia

Postby The_MAZZTer » Fri Sep 09, 2005 11:26 pm

Surprisingly, the Steam Source Dedicated Server seems to work alright with Dystopia on first glance. I fired it up and was able to join and everything seemed alright, although noone else has joined (can't host or join internet games on campus here) so I can't really try it fully.

Only flaw is the maxplayers can't be set right unless you edit Dystopia's settings.scr and override the default value of 24 (so I hear).

This is an easier (although unsupported by the Dystopia Team) option for Windows users who wish to run a Dystopia dedicated server.

If anyone finds anything interesting or finds any differences between the Steam SDS running Dystopia and the stand-alone console SDS running Dystopia, especially glitches or such, please post them.
User avatar
The_MAZZTer
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: CYBARSPASE

Postby kryptic » Sat Sep 10, 2005 12:21 am

Confirmed on my server (Brajah.com Dystopia Demo Server). The default is 20, to get less I had to change valve.rc (not settings.scr), and restart the server to get it to work.
kryptic
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:10 pm

Postby pizzahut » Sat Sep 10, 2005 9:41 am

nm
Last edited by pizzahut on Sat Sep 10, 2005 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pizzahut
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 4:03 pm

Postby The_MAZZTer » Sat Sep 10, 2005 12:07 pm

Err what does this have to do with the topic at hand? :/ You should post your own thread.
User avatar
The_MAZZTer
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: CYBARSPASE

Postby Ghezus » Sat Sep 10, 2005 5:12 pm

Have your tried -maxplayers or something in the startup line ?
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> < ) This is bunny. Click here to help bunny.

[Ghezus.com]
User avatar
Ghezus
PHAN
PHAN
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 4:49 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby A-Bomb » Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:59 pm

I edited the .rc file. Im currently running 2 Dedicated servers though SDS, the only funny thing I notice is one server is using 30 megs of ram the other is using 70. I guess thats it.
A-Bomb
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:58 pm


Return to Dystopia Server Administrators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron