template->_php_include(): File ./../includes/nav.inc.php does not exist or is empty

windows server broken?

Helpful information for people wanting to run dedicated Dystopia servers

Moderator: Forum Moderators

windows server broken?

Postby gioccher » Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:52 am

trying to run a server on Windows 2008 R2
HldsUpdateTool -command update -game dystopia -dir .

srcds.exe -game dystopia +maxplayers 16 -console +ip 0.0.0.0 -port 27415 -nocrashdialog +map dys_vaccine

result: "The procedure entry point GetHSteamUser could not be located in dynamic link library steam_api.dll."
Running steam in the background doesn't fix the problem.
Any advice?
User avatar
gioccher
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:51 am

Re: windows server broken?

Postby 101satoon101 » Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:23 am

I have this too. I 'believe' it is because the dedicated server via HLDSUpdateTool (at least the Windows version) is still using the Episode1-engine. Hopefully Valve can fix this issue fairly quickly.

Satoon
101satoon101
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:25 pm

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Atomy » Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:58 am

i know of at least one 1.3 windows server operating, but could be also him using the packed server files instead of the ones from steam, linux works though - let me find him
User avatar
Atomy
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: windows server broken?

Postby gioccher » Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:08 am

download both -game dystopia and -game orangebox with HldsUpdateTool
and then move the dystopia dir inside orangebox
it will work fine
User avatar
gioccher
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:51 am

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Atomy » Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:55 am

yeah i just tried things out myself, you guys forgot to grab -game orangebox
User avatar
Atomy
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: windows server broken?

Postby gioccher » Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:07 am

actually we didn't forget anything: the release you are shipping does not include the proper engine and places the dystopia dir in the wrong place :D
you should ask valve to fix it
User avatar
gioccher
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:51 am

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Zero-Flame » Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:13 am

you have to grab -game orangebox no matter what for any mod that runs over obox from my past experience. You will need to grab orangebox first and then Dystopia after. This is the process I used and it works fine. If you don't do it in that order then you will have to redownload because of the way the updatetool works.

I think I ended up downloading these files like 3 times each figuring that out lol

but yeah, valve didn't update the directory either but that doesnt mean you can't just move it manually
WW3|Zero-Flame
Free file hosting at http://Zero-Flame.com
US FastDL @ http://fastdl.zero-flame.com
Image
Image
User avatar
Zero-Flame
higher post count
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Greensburg, KS/ Kansas City, MO
Real Name: Josh Goodman

Re: windows server broken?

Postby gioccher » Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:43 am

I've updated the wiki, just remember to update it again when you'll fix this
http://www.dystopia-game.com/wiki/index ... gh#Windows
User avatar
gioccher
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:51 am

Re: windows server broken?

Postby UsefulId|ot » Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:27 am

also windows server 2008 sucks and linux is better!
Image
Image
User avatar
UsefulId|ot
PHAN
PHAN
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:45 am

Re: windows server broken?

Postby gioccher » Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:28 am

UsefulId|ot wrote:also windows server 2008 sucks and linux is better!
what an appropriate nickname you have!
User avatar
gioccher
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:51 am

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Zero-Flame » Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:43 am

UsefulId|ot wrote:also windows server 2008 sucks and linux is better!


For srcds yeah linux is better
WW3|Zero-Flame
Free file hosting at http://Zero-Flame.com
US FastDL @ http://fastdl.zero-flame.com
Image
Image
User avatar
Zero-Flame
higher post count
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Greensburg, KS/ Kansas City, MO
Real Name: Josh Goodman

Re: windows server broken?

Postby 101satoon101 » Wed Sep 15, 2010 10:07 am

Well, "all" of the other mods that are downloaded directly by Steam (with their own HLDSUpdateTool -game <mod>) do "not" require anyone having to download -orangebox as well. Age of Chivalry, DIPRIP, PVKII, Smashball, Synergy, and ZPS all download in the correct structure without having to download the OrangeBox separately and move the game folder into the orangebox folder. I assumed that this would be the way it would work for Dystopia. Maybe you can look into getting this worked out so that that actually happens.

Satoon
101satoon101
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:25 pm

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Zero-Flame » Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:41 am

I had to download orangebox for garrysmod, and since I had it installed already when I installed those I assumed that it was the same case.

We will see what Valve says about it and what needs to be done.
WW3|Zero-Flame
Free file hosting at http://Zero-Flame.com
US FastDL @ http://fastdl.zero-flame.com
Image
Image
User avatar
Zero-Flame
higher post count
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Greensburg, KS/ Kansas City, MO
Real Name: Josh Goodman

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Fairy » Wed Sep 15, 2010 3:50 pm

101satoon101 wrote:Age of Chivalry, DIPRIP, PVKII, Smashball, Synergy, and ZPS all download in the correct structure without having to download the OrangeBox separately and move the game folder into the orangebox folder.


Those mods were all featured by Valve in some points and apparently that's why the download works fine without the Orangebox.
User avatar
Fairy
PHAN
PHAN
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:41 am
Location: localhost

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Ironclaw » Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:27 am

I don't want to burst your bubble, but dystopia is also one of those "steam featured" mods... you might not have noticed, but you can download it through steam.

So, yeah... I'm going to try and fix my server... again, by getting the orangebox thing downloaded to it.
Ironclaw
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Aurion » Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:27 am

You might have noticed that Valve likes to break Dystopia everytime Steam is needed, maybe it's related to that.
Lyta had a little Vorlon, her skin was pale as snow. And everywhere that Lyta went, the Vorlon was sure to go.

Image
User avatar
Aurion
PHAN
PHAN
 
Posts: 1220
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 7:40 am
Location: Germany

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Zero-Flame » Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:06 pm

Replace your orangebox/bin with these files and it will fix Dystopia

http://zero-flame.info/bin.zip
WW3|Zero-Flame
Free file hosting at http://Zero-Flame.com
US FastDL @ http://fastdl.zero-flame.com
Image
Image
User avatar
Zero-Flame
higher post count
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Greensburg, KS/ Kansas City, MO
Real Name: Josh Goodman

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Fairy » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:46 am

Ironclaw wrote:I don't want to burst your bubble, but dystopia is also one of those "steam featured" mods... you might not have noticed, but you can download it through steam.

So, yeah... I'm going to try and fix my server... again, by getting the orangebox thing downloaded to it.



With featured I mean they were in your Games Tab even without having them installed. Dystopia was the underdog at this point.
User avatar
Fairy
PHAN
PHAN
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:41 am
Location: localhost

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Tnvlsrule » Sat Jun 04, 2011 10:46 am

I'm having this problem, too. Running on Windows Home Server, it opens a console window for a split second then closes it. Every once in a while, it will give me the "Entry Point Not Found - The procedure entry point GetHSteamUser could not be located in the dynamic link library steam_api.dll." error. Maybe I'm confused about the installation process. Could someone clearify?

The first thing i did was i downloaded just Dystopia server files. After reading the walkthrough, I deleted those and downloaded Orangebox server files to a directory and Dystopia server files to the .\orangebox\ directory. When that failed, I downloaded the Orangebox files followed by the Dystopia files to the same, new directory. When that failed, i moved the dystopia folder inside the orangebox folder. Which one is right?
With enemies like these
Who needs friends?
User avatar
Tnvlsrule
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:57 pm
Location: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Real Name: Killian Jones

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Tnvlsrule » Sat Jun 04, 2011 7:05 pm

Alright, I was able to get it to work by installing the Dystopia files to an orangebox directory, then installing the Orangebox files to the directory above that. In other words, the installation sequence is backwards on the walkthrough page on the wiki.
With enemies like these
Who needs friends?
User avatar
Tnvlsrule
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:57 pm
Location: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Real Name: Killian Jones

Re: windows server broken?

Postby Atomy » Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:47 pm

fixed the wiki steps for the windows one
User avatar
Atomy
Puny Human staff
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Germany


Return to Dystopia Server Administrators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron