template->_php_include(): File ./../includes/nav.inc.php does not exist or is empty

Server wont show up in internet list

Helpful information for people wanting to run dedicated Dystopia servers

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Server wont show up in internet list

Postby vcordie » Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:46 pm

Hi, I got my server to work fine and everything, its up, but its not showing up in the internet server list, It only shows up in the lan server list, I have a belkin router and it looks liek the ports are all forwarded ok, since belkin router has a built in half life server port thingie, so when I click on it it forwards the ports I need to forwarded. Ive seen this topic viewtopic.php?f=41&t=6141 but it doesnt help me much, because it doesnt tell me how to make the firewall forward to the source port, I even tryed shutting windows firewall down. Does anyone know how I would make the firewall do the same thing in the post in the link above? And if that doesnt work how I would get the server to show up in the internet server list?
vcordie
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:47 pm

Re: Server wont show up in internet list

Postby Zero-Flame » Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:35 pm

srcds.exe ports 27015 on udp and tcp just to be safe you should try opening those ports in your router because i have a feeling that the built in thing doesnt work lol. for windows firewall you need to do the same thing.
Go into your windows firewall and click the tab "Exceptions" click "Add Port..."
Code: Select all
Name: srcds
Port Number: 27015
UDP


OR alternatively allow the program to access every port it needs and do "Add Program..." and Browse to your SRCDS file where your servers are.
WW3|Zero-Flame
Free file hosting at http://Zero-Flame.com
US FastDL @ http://fastdl.zero-flame.com
Image
Image
User avatar
Zero-Flame
higher post count
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Greensburg, KS/ Kansas City, MO
Real Name: Josh Goodman

Re: Server wont show up in internet list

Postby vcordie » Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:36 pm

I've done this but it still wont work, Any suggestions? my server still get stuck in the lan section of servers instead of the internet section of the servers which I want it to be in.
vcordie
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:47 pm

Re: Server wont show up in internet list

Postby Furtal1ty » Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:20 pm

sv_lan 0

also full port list is
UDP 1200 (Friends Network)
UDP 27000 to 27015 (Gameport)
UDP 27020
TCP 27030 to 27039
TCP 27015 (SRCDS Rcon port)

(Copy and pasted from Planet Half Life)
< JumpnSpin> I do idle in ##c++ on freenode... not sure why... all the questions asked there are below my level =/
< Dvusyqyb> Do you ever help people?
< Dvusyqyb> Of course you don't.
< Dvusyqyb> Nevermind.
Furtal1ty
higher post count
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:27 am
Location: Texas

Re: Server wont show up in internet list

Postby Zero-Flame » Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:39 am

I hope that you do realize that if your machine is on your network, it will ONLY show up in LAN for you and not public. Also if hes running a dedicated server the port can be any value and not just 27000-27015

Also, we have told you everything that you can do to forward your ports on windows firewall. Now if you are using another software then we can't tell you how to forward those ports without telling us how. Also have a friend check to see if your server is being shown in the list. Alternatively you can join #dystopia on irc://irc.gamesurge.net and use the command
Code: Select all
!server ###.###.###.###:PORT#

The Dystopia bot will tell you if the server is seen or not.
http://www.whatismyip.com/
To find out your IP address, or alternatively it is listed usually under status in your routers settings.
WW3|Zero-Flame
Free file hosting at http://Zero-Flame.com
US FastDL @ http://fastdl.zero-flame.com
Image
Image
User avatar
Zero-Flame
higher post count
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Greensburg, KS/ Kansas City, MO
Real Name: Josh Goodman

Re: Server wont show up in internet list

Postby Furtal1ty » Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:02 pm

Speaking of servers I still need to find 10 people to jump on my server and see if my connection can support 4v4 or 5v5 66 tick lag free.

The hardest thing about servers is setting up the rates right. Especially if you're going for home hosting, you're on some seriously limited bandwith, and may be forced to use a lower tickrate (60 or 50 maybe) and do a little playing around to see how low you can set sv_maxrate without causing lag.
< JumpnSpin> I do idle in ##c++ on freenode... not sure why... all the questions asked there are below my level =/
< Dvusyqyb> Do you ever help people?
< Dvusyqyb> Of course you don't.
< Dvusyqyb> Nevermind.
Furtal1ty
higher post count
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:27 am
Location: Texas

Re: Server wont show up in internet list

Postby Zero-Flame » Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:46 am

IIRC 1 MBit upload can handle a decent 5v5. (Depending on the machine)
WW3|Zero-Flame
Free file hosting at http://Zero-Flame.com
US FastDL @ http://fastdl.zero-flame.com
Image
Image
User avatar
Zero-Flame
higher post count
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Greensburg, KS/ Kansas City, MO
Real Name: Josh Goodman

Re: Server wont show up in internet list

Postby Furtal1ty » Wed Dec 24, 2008 6:55 pm

I've got 512 O_o. It started to lag at around 8 people, with default rate settings on wireless connection lol. I've hardwired it and set rates. Just wanna see just how much I can squeeze on my connection.
< JumpnSpin> I do idle in ##c++ on freenode... not sure why... all the questions asked there are below my level =/
< Dvusyqyb> Do you ever help people?
< Dvusyqyb> Of course you don't.
< Dvusyqyb> Nevermind.
Furtal1ty
higher post count
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:27 am
Location: Texas

Re: Server wont show up in internet list

Postby senyoreeta » Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:43 am

http://www.whatismyip.com/
To find out your IP address,


There is a similar ip search site called IP-Details.com to check our External ip address. Here it display IP address, ISP, Location, Country and so on,...
senyoreeta
Blank Load Out
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:39 am


Return to Dystopia Server Administrators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron